• FREE SPEECH SOCIAL MEDIA

If you're looking for a Free Speech Social Media site, check out Blabbook.com

- NO FACT CHECKING - NO SHADOW BANNING - NO POINT OF VIEW CENSORSHIP

Electrical Issues

sluggo1967

I have an annoying electrical problem (what ones aren’t?!) ok i have a 1977 sr5 longbed and if it matters, the original ignition was replaced with a 1979 point less distributor or equivalent. What is going on is the chg light comes on and usually the truck will go for awhile then it cuts out and i assume There is no spark and i have to start the truck up again. I usually repeat this till i get home and it sits till the next day and usually doesn’t “act up” again but sometimes it does. Also when it dies and then repeats, the heater fan cuts out and doesn’t go on till the next day, usually. Im no electrician so I'm at a loss to what is happening
I have replaced the following:
Alternator
Cap n rotor
Plugs n wires
Coil
Fuel pump relay
Voltage regulator(it didnt work so the old one went back in)
If anybody has a clue to what is going on, please help!! Thanks

Last edited:

kennythewelder

Super Moderator
Staff member
100 Posts
Sounds like the ingition wire that feeds the coil has a short. I have in the past ran a wire to the positive on the coil, to a toggle switch, and found another supply for the toggle switch. To kill the truck, kill the toggle switch. Supply the toggle from the battery and include a fuse. You still need the key to start the truck, but must use the toggle to make it run, and to kill it.

kennythewelder

Super Moderator
Staff member
100 Posts