• FREE SPEECH SOCIAL MEDIA

If you're looking for a Free Speech Social Media site, check out Blabbook.com

- NO FACT CHECKING - NO SHADOW BANNING - NO POINT OF VIEW CENSORSHIP

Want to dress up a 86 4X4

snoopy68

I am new up here but my son just got his first truck, a 86 4X4 Toyota with a 22R. I would like to dress it up for him and toughen it up at the same time. I am looking for advice on push bars, belly pans, Nerf bars roll bars, tool boxes. Would also like to look into a locking diff. Any advice on where to get this stuff, what is the best to get etc. would be great. This boy loves to play in the mud and I think it's a great way to keep him out of trouble and I get to ride too! I am a retired mechanic and love spending time with him working on his truck just need to find the parts and what works the best. Figured you guys would know. Thanks

tbplus10

Staff member
1000 Posts
Community Leader
86 is a great year Toyota truck, unfortunately you wont find many aftermarket parts for them these days.

Heres a few manufacturers still making parts, beware they wont be cheap!!

https://www.allprooffroad.com/

http://www.off-road.com/trucks-4x4/tech/parts-suppliers-19411.html

This really might be a great time to teach him about fabricating your own parts, and a great excuse for you to buy those new tools you've always wanted.

Roll Bars are almost non-existant now days, most go with in cab cages, roll bars as they used to be known are now called "Light Bars" since their built so flimsy they wouldnt hold-up in a roll over and mfgrs dont want to get sued.

I've only seen a few trucks of that yr/model with belly pans and they were all custom made.

For a push bar I'd probably look at local swap meets and flea markets then modify it to fit.