• FREE SPEECH SOCIAL MEDIA

If you're looking for a Free Speech Social Media site, check out Blabbook.com

- NO FACT CHECKING - NO SHADOW BANNING - NO POINT OF VIEW CENSORSHIP

1997 Toyota T100 Sr5 Oil Pressure Fluctuation

Jjmarty

Hey y'all I'm new to this thread, but aside from that please advise. I have a 97 t100 with bad oil pressure. Upon starting, the truck has good oil pressure around 40 psi and about 15 at idle, and while driving up unto approx. operating temps. At one point it will then increase with the throttle as usual, but at approx 2000 rpm, the oil pressure around 35 psi, it will snap down to 20 psi, and nearly nothing when brought back to idle. Do these have an oil filter bypass?? Please don't tell me my pressure regulator is bad by the oil pump. I need help bad no mechanic wants to touch it, going by the phrase : but the engines don't make trouble I never worked on one...

kennythewelder

Super Moderator
Staff member
100 Posts
Welcome to the forum. As for a bypass, there is one inside of the oil filter. All oil filters have one, but that is not your issue. IDK for sure what pressure they go into bypass, but it is a higher than 80 PSI I think. I would suspect the engine has sludge, but IDK for sure. You need to remove a valve cover, and see what it looks like in there. You will need to replace the gaskets when you do this. You can also try some Gunk motor flush and do an oil change. Its 5 minute motor flush, but the same product use to be 15 minute motor flush, so when I do mine, I run it for 15 minutes, but thats just me. You can also pull the oil dip stick, and see how it looks. If it is very black, and maybe a little thick, this can also be a sign of sludge, but to know for sure, you need to see inside the engine. Pulling a valve cover is a good easy way to do this.

Glenn britton

Hey jj,
T100 oil pressure fluctuation eh??