• FREE SPEECH SOCIAL MEDIA

If you're looking for a Free Speech Social Media site, check out Blabbook.com

- NO FACT CHECKING - NO SHADOW BANNING - NO POINT OF VIEW CENSORSHIP

Am I Getting Over-charged To Swap In A Rebuilt Engine?

Dave 1986

It's a long-bed/extended cab '86 pickup with 290K miles and 22R (carb) engine and no AC. Symptoms of a blown head gasket (fluid in oil, overheating) caused me to take the truck to a well-respected non-dealer shop in my area. They took off the head and found a bit of a mess and (long story short) determined that the best fix was to swap in a rebuilt engine. They are talking $4K-ish with a 3-yr warranty. I have looked on-line for rebuilt 22R engines and they seem to be about $1700-2100 with 1-3 yr warranties. I am only an amateur mechanic with no experience getting major work done on this truck (no need to until now!), but it seems to me that ~$2K to swap engines is high.

So I am asking those of you who know much more about these matters than I do: does this sound like a reasonable price?

Thanks.

toyotafan

Toyota Truck Club Founder
Staff member
1000 Posts
It's all labor costs but that's in line with what you might see for a newer vehicle. Might look for a smaller shop to give you a lower rate.

kennythewelder

Super Moderator
Staff member
100 Posts
The price may be a little high, but it is a lot of work to do an engine swap. The shop has to do a good reliable job with a warranty. The engine has to be run to brake in the cam, and there is a lot of little things that need to be done like get the clutch rite, radiator rite, belts rite just to name a few. also it will be easier most likely to pull the trans with the engine, and put it on the new engine out of the truck, then put them in the truck together.

Last edited:

kennythewelder

Super Moderator
Staff member
100 Posts